Tehama/Shasta Area NFI Advanced Defensive Pistol Course – Step II Learn the Next Steps to Carrying Your Personal Protection Firearm! November 4th

Event Phone: 530-567-5165

Details Price Qty
Step II - Defense Pistol Fees $145 + $15 Range Feesshow details + $160.00 (USD)  
Step II + CCW Renewal $185 + $15 Range Feesshow details + $200.00 (USD)  

  • Step II - Defensive Pistol
    November 4, 2023
    10:00 am - 3:00 pm

The STEP II- NFI DEFENSIVE PISTOL COURSE is designed for students who desire to continue their training and employ the personal protection handgun from an outside/inside the waistband hip holster. The drills are a natural progression from what was learned in the NFI Basic CCW Course. The 5 hour course is designed to be safe yet challenging, focusing specifically on drawing your firearm from a hip holster both effectively and efficiently.

COURSE PREREQUISITE: This course is considered an advanced pistol course in the NFI Portfolio of courses. In order to attend you must have proof of one of the following:

  1. Attendance of an NFI Initial CCW Course
  2. A California CCW
  3. Completion of a defensive (not basic) handgun course of 8 hours or more from a nationally recognized training provider, these providers include the NRA, USCCA, Gunsite, Thunder Ranch, Front Sight, POST handgun courses, BSIS armed security guard training, Glock Instructor Development, Sig Sauer Instructor Development, etc.

If you have a question about qualifications, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Reviewing the 5 Steps of Defensive Marksmanship

Hold Control



Trigger Control

Follow Through

Presenting a firearm from a concealment holster

Reloading a firearm during an emergency

Clearing a misfire

Issuing a verbal warning

Introduction to movement.

Proximity engagements

The STEP II NEXT STEPS DEFENSIVE PISTOL COURSE is just one of several courses designed to be attended to ensure a continuous training cycle for CCW holders. This training allows for continued training that focuses on real-world skills needed for personal protection.

This Step II course precedes more advanced Defensive Pistol Courses (Step III and Step IV) and must be attended in that order, with no exceptions.

Ammo Packages available during this course. Ammunition used during the course can be provided at $40 a box (this is my cost). California State law prohibits students leaving the range with this ammo. All full and unused boxes will be refunded on site. Ammo calibers available are 22LR, .40, 9MM, .45, .380 & .38 Special.  Select the ammo which applies to you when registering for the course and it will be delivered to the student on the range where it can be paid for with cash, check or Venmo. Please leave the requested caliber and number of boxes (50 cartridges in each) in the notes section.


Class will meet at the range in Red Bluff.  Directions will be emailed the Monday before class.

Class Schedule: 10am to 3pm.  Bring a primary firearm and 150 cartridges for your primary handgun.  In addition, gun belt, hip holster (0utside of the waistband only) worn at either 3 or 6 o’clock, 2 magazines, and a magazine carrier are required for this course.  Appendix, Ankle, Small of the Back, Shoulder holsters will not be allowed.  Finally, a cover garment to conceal your firearm.  While a T-shirt can accomplish this task, we recommend an outer style garment that can be easily worn or taken off.

Please contact the instructor listed below with any specific gear questions.  See below for a full range packing list.


Folding Chair

Eye and Ear Protection

Snacks and drinks if desired

Firearm and ammunition (150 cartridges)

Hand Towel

Baseball cap closed-toed shoes. No V-necks or tank tops, please.

Sunscreen if needed

Gun belt

OWB holster (3 or 9’o clock) – A drop holster is preferred.

2 magazines

Magazine carrier

Cover garment


Contact me anytime!

Jen O’Hara – 530-567-5165 – Text is preferred

Director of Training for Tehama County #209678426

“My Right, My Responsibility”


Cancellation Policy: Training fees include a 50% non-refundable deposit. Cancellations prior to the start of the class will be given a 50% refund of training fees, or a one-time reschedule of training within one year. Students who are absent from any portion of a class without notice will forfeit all training fees. Please contact your instructor as early as possible to cancel your class.