- Sacramento CCW Initial
February 5, 2022 - February 6, 2022
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
This class is taught by Tom McDonald, Senior Instructor for NFI.
Tom McDonald served 30-years in law enforcement for a major police department in Southern California. His assignments included field patrol, as a member of a Special Problems Unit, a Gang Enforcement Unit, and as a Field Training Officer. Tom was selected to serve as a Scout on an entry team, as a sniper, and as a hostage rescue negotiator on a on full-time major Police Department Special Weapons and Tactics team (SWAT). During this period, the SWAT team that he was assigned to trained extensively with numerous local SWAT teams, the FBI’s enhanced Los Angeles SWAT team, the Bureau’s Hostage Rescue Team, and many US military and international Tier-1 teams.
As an officer Tom served as a Tactics Instructor at the Police Academy. As a supervisor he served as a Training Coordinator and Officer-In-Charge of his department’s Advanced Tactics Unit.
After retiring as a Captain Tom served as the Chief of Police for a city in Northern California until he left active service altogether in December of 2019.
Tom is Certified Northern Firearms Pistol, CCW Instructor, and California Department of Justice (CA DOJ) certified firearms instructor.
$229.00 Course Fee
$20.00 Range Fee = $249.00 (total)
To read a complete list of our reviews click here: NFI Reviews.
SACRAMENTO/YOLO COUNTY AUTHORIZED 16 HOUR CALIFORNIA CCW COURSE. This course meets the mandated training requirement for Sacramento, San Joaquin, and Yolo Counties. As each county has its own training requirement you may be able to attend a course that is only 8 hours long and costs less. Check with your county for more details. NFI is proud to offer courses in all Northern and Central California counties. If you are looking for a course in another county just navigate back to our home page!
FOR SACRAMENTO COUNTY RESIDENTS, PLEASE NOTE YOUR TRAINING CERTIFICATE IS VALID FOR 180 DAYS FROM THE DATE OF COMPLETION. YOU MUST HAVE YOUR CCW PERMIT ISSUED TO YOU WITHIN THESE 180 DAYS OTHERWISE YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO ATTEND ANOTHER 4 HOURS OF TRAINING. THUS, IT IS HIGHLY SUGGESTED THAT YOU ALREADY HAVE YOUR APPLICATION SUBMITTED TO THE SHERIFF’S OFFICE AND INTERVIEW SCHEDULED PRIOR TO REGISTERING FOR THIS CLASS.
PLEASE REFER TO THE SACRAMENTO COUNTY SHERIFF’S WEB PAGE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND FAQs:
Please note: Our classes are nearly always completely full. The cancellation policy is designed to protect your reserved seat in our course. The cancellation policy is detailed at the bottom of this page.
The course will be taught at….
Placer Sporting Club, 2001 Opportunity Drive, Roseville CA 95678
SATURDAY and SUNDAY – The class time is 9:00 am to 6:00 pm:
*NOTE: Please bring all firearms and ammunition on both days.
Please print out and complete the following attached Waivers for NFI, and the Placer Sporting Club, and please scan and email them to your instructor, Tom McDonald at firstname.lastname@example.org prior to the first day of class. (If you are unable to scan them, you may bring paper copies of your completed waivers to the first day of class.)
This is a 16 Hour Concealed Carry course that satisfies Sacramento / Yolo / San Joaquin training requirements and all other Counties that require 8 Hour CCW Training. This curriculum includes, CA DOJ Law Overview, Safe Gun Handling, Marksmanship Coaching, Ammunition Selection, Gun Cleaning Overview, and Range Qualification.
BONUS SECTION: This block of instruction includes malfunction drills, and tactical and speed reloading.
Packing list for this course:
- CLASSROOM (Saturday): Pen and notepad, along with all completed waiver forms if not emailed to instructor prior to class.
- CLASSROOM AND RANGE (Sunday):
- Each handgun you want to include on your CA CCW (up to three)
- A minimum of 100 cartridges for each handgun
- Minimum of 2 Magazines (3 preferred)
- Eye and ear protection
If you have additional questions, please contact:
Tom McDonald – NFI Senior Instructor
PLEASE REVIEW OUR CANCELLATION POLICY: Training fees include a 50% non-refundable deposit. Cancellations prior to the start of the class will be given a 50% refund of training fees, or a one-time reschedule of training within one year. Students who are absent from any portion of a class without notice will not be eligible for refund. Please contact your instructor as early as possible to cancel your class. Text number: 213-509-0166