- Step II and Renewal Combo
June 17, 2023
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Two classes in one! Join Senior NFI Instructor Paul Robins for this unique course that begins with a 6-hour Step II Advanced Defensive Handgun class and concludes with 2 hours of additional instruction to complete the requirements for your CCW Renewal. Paul is a college professor who has also been an instructor at Front Sight Firearms Training Institute. He is an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor and California DOJ Certified Firearms Instructor. Come benefit from his extensive classroom and range experience.
The 6-hour Step II Advanced Handgun curriculum will provide you with training well beyond the required CCW standards. Learning to safely draw and holster a handgun from concealment is a priority in this class. Students will also be introduced to and practice tactical & emergency reloading and will also learn how to quickly and safely clear malfunctions. Importantly, the class will take advantage of the outdoor range setting, giving students some unique training opportunities, including tactical movement, that are simply not possible at an indoor range. The class also addresses proper selection of equipment for concealed carry (i.e., holsters, magazines, belts, and on-body and off-body carry options). It is expected that students will already be familiar with the operation of their firearms and understand basic marksmanship.
The 6-hour Step II class is followed up with an additional 2 hours of instruction, updating California state laws related to Concealed Carry and shooting the qualifying test with up to three handguns to complete the CCW renewal requirements. Upon qualification, students will receive a course completion certificate for 4 hours of CCW renewal training.
Pricing: “One price” for up to 3 Firearms and Includes future modifications.
Course Fee $169.00 Includes classroom and range portions, CA Firearm Law Book, and Targets
Range Fee $ 20.00
Total Fee $189.00
This CCW Renewal course is authorized in the following counties: Butte County, Calaveras County, Colusa County, El Dorado County, Fresno County, Glenn County, Lassen County, Madera County, Modoc County, Nevada County, Placer County, Sacramento County, San Benito County, San Joaquin County, Shasta County, Siskiyou County, Solano County, Sutter County, Tehama County, Trinity County, Tulare County, Yolo County, Yuba County, The City of Red Bluff, and the City of Fresno.
Please download, print, complete and bring to class the attached Waiver and Firearm Documentation:
Waiver and Firearm Documentation 2022
This adds up to a full 8-hour course on an outdoor range from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Please take that into account by dressing appropriately for the weather, bringing sun block and plenty of liquids to stay hydrated. We will have a working lunch on the range, so pack your lunch, plenty of liquids, and a snack.
You will be drawing and firing your handgun from a holster. Your holster must be substantial enough that the opening does not collapse when gun is drawn, so that gun can be easily re-holstered (kydex or sturdy leather).You will need a strong-side outside/inside the waistband hip holster (OUTSIDE waistband is strongly recommended), at least one magazine carrier (A DOUBLE magazine carrier or two singles is strongly recommended) and a belt that is sturdy enough to handle the firearm and ammunition while drawing and holstering. Remember to bring a cover garment.
Select one primary handgun to use for most of the day, which you will be drawing and firing from a holster. If you want up to three guns on your permit, there is no need to have a holster for guns two and three.
What to Bring
- Folding Chair for range comfort (optional—we have covered tables and benches for some of our range time)
- Pen and notepad
- Each handgun you want to include on your CA CCW (up to three)
- 200 cartridges for Primary Firearm, 100 cartridges for each additional firearm.
- Eye and Ear Protection
- Baseball or other brimmed hat
- Belt and OWB or IWB Holster (holster must be substantial enough that the opening does not collapse when gun is drawn)
- Two magazines for each gun
- Double Magazine Carrier or two singles for your primary weapon (DOUBLE carrier STRONGLY RECOMMENDED)
- Cover Garment
- Closed-toed shoes
- (no tank tops or v-neck tops please)
Again, in addition to your lunch, please bring plenty of water and a snack to keep hydrated and your energy level sustained.
For questions contact:
Cancellation policy: NFI has become the industry leader in firearms training because we employ the finest instructors and ensure there are plenty of them. When a class is scheduled, these instructors are hired based on the number of students in the class. Certificates are prepared, ranges are reserved and the best training money can buy is reserved for YOU! Please let us know as early as possible if you cannot attend a class. Firearms training fees are completely refundable with a time stamped e-mail or text using the contact app on this website 14 days prior to the start date of your class. Classes cancelled within 14 days of start will receive a class credit to be used within one year. Students who do not attend a scheduled class with no contact will forfeit training fees.
Venue: Sacramento Valley Shooting Center
Venue Phone: 916-354-9668
Venue Website: https://www.sacvalley.org/Address: